Gilmore Girls

12 07 2005

Lets suppose that I were to obtain season 2 of the Gilmore Girls. Not for myself, mind you (not that there is anything wrong with that), but for my household in general. Now lets assume that I touched it, and even opened up the front cover. Now we can stop assuming, because I found what I was looking for. “Your Guide to Gilmore-isms.” Apparently its “The 411 on many of the shows witty and memorable wordplays and pop culture references.”

Has anybody read this thing?

“Ab FabReference to Jennifer Saunders’ brilliant creation, British comedy series Absolutely Fabulous.”

“Bob Vila – Host of This Old House home improvement program.”

“Chairy and Captain Carl – Chairy (a giant, plush, talking chair) and Captain Carl (one of the Playhouse gang, played by Phil Hartman) were characters on Pee Wee’s Playhouse.”

It goes on for about 18 pages in a book the dimensions of a DVD case, in a fairly small font, and theres even some simple drawings…like a drawing of Chairy in case you cant imagine what a giant, plush, talking chair looks like. Or your so un-hip and old (or young) that you’ve never seen Pee-Wee’s Playhouse, or heard about it, or even considered what it would be like to have Paul Reubens dress up in a grey suit with a red bow tie and act like a kid with seemingly unlimited resources, magical abilities, and wacky friends.
I will admit that there are a few things in the book that I didn’t know about, but thats because I didn’t care to know about them. For example:
“Ida Morgenstern – Overbearing mother character played by Nancy Walker on the sitcom Rodha.”
I know that Nancy Walker is that old red headed actress lady, but I don’t care that she played Rodha’s mother. Does anybody really?

Anyway, my point is that there is a guide to the shows wit, just in case anybody watching isn’t smart or witty enough to get the references. This little book allows even the most brain dead people to watch the show and feel like they get all the humor, all because of this idiots guide.

You know, I was starting to like the show for a minute there. Then I stumbled across this book. It totally killed it for me. Its like when somebody has to explain a joke in order for it to be funny. I already understood the shows “wit,” but now that I have a book to explain it all, its just not as funny.

By the way, if you have to look at that book more then twice per episode, you’re to dumb to watch it to begin with.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

