Return of the Matrix

11 07 2007

I finally got my car back this afternoon. It took one month and three days. That might seem like a long time, but lots of rebuilding and painting needed to be done.

Also, the dents on the back bumper were repaired, and those were not caused by the wreck that happened last month, so I got hooked up. I recommend ABC Auto to anybody that needs body work done.

As far as pricing goes, I really don’t care, because all I had to do was pay the $500 deductible.

On a dumber note, the brand new Corolla I was driving for work was apparently damaged, and it was apparently my fault. After I dropped it off at the office at the end of the work day I got like three voice mails asking about the “big dent on the fender.” They were voice mails because I couldn’t hear my phone ringing with the windows down in Corinne’s Saturn, which is what I drove to work today.

Anyway, had I caused the dent, I would have reported it. And I sure as hell would have known about it, especially since only me or my students could have put it there. When they called me about it, I had no idea there was any damage. What sucks is that they all thought that I knew it was there and wanted to lie about it to cover my ass because the car is only 2 days old and I knew that the boss would be pissed.

I have no reason to lie about stuff like that, I’m not worried about losing my job over it. From what I’ve been told, instructors (or their students) have practically wrecked some of the other cars, and continued to be employed long afterwards.

Overall, I really had no reason to hide the damage. I just straight up didn’t know about it. More then likely it happened while I was parked in a parking lot, somebody probably opened their door to hard and too close or something like that. It wouldn’t be the first time a car I was using got damaged in a parking lot because other people are idiots.

To the whole ordeal I say: “Whatever.” Not to imply that I don’t care, but to indicate the fact that there is nothing I can do about it now. The damage is done (litterally), and the company and I will just have to deal with it. Since its just a dent (it’s probably a ding, I have a feeling they are exaggerating), it probably won’t ever get fixed, just touched up so it’s not as noticeable.

I mean, fuck, its not like I rear ended a Lincoln Navigator or anything.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

