Sam Adams Octoberfest, Karaoke, and a tab.

15 10 2007

Saturday night, we all went to the High Sierra Room.

While it sounds like quite the place, it’s a one of two bars at a bowling alley. On Saturdays, it’s a karaoke bar.

And right now on House, Kumar just set a bitch on fire. Tight stuff.

Anyway, we all went to the High Sierra Room because the previous weekend I made a drunken declaration of my own karaoke talents. It was decided that I had to prove myself, or at least make people laugh with my inability to sing “Zoot Suit Riot.”

I must say that if I am to be a bar fly again, I want it to be at the HSR. Compared to the other bars in Fresno, it is far superior (in my opinion).

So here are the reasons I like this place:

1. A variety of patrons.

Besides us twenty-somethings, there were other twenty-somethings, middle age folk who were there with their own twenty-something year old kids, a variety of random folk who were enjoying themselves, and a rather large bachlorette party for a late-twenty year old woman, who was rather drunk and also enjoying herself.

2. The bartenders were over the age of 50.

This is always good, as it generally means they know what they are doing. It also means that they are free to make drinks, as nobody is flirting with them.

3. Good sized booths

The booths are big and comfy. And good-sized.

4. A knowledgeable and talented Karaoke DJ.

This guy recognized my talent, was capable of pulling his own weight in songs, and didn’t take shit from anybody.

5. Bachlorette Party.

Not necessarily a regular staple at the High Sierra Room, but their presence was an added bonus on Saturday. For example, while we were outside smoking, their limo pulled up. All the ladies got on the other side to take a picture, meanwhile my friend Matt got into the back of the limo, crawled across the rear seat, and emerged on the other side amongst the picture-posing women, must to their disliking. Also, 2 minutes later, when the limo was full and getting ready to leave, he crawled through the open back window onto the laps of whoever was sitting on the back seat, only to be ejected out the other side. Brilliant.

So those are my five reasons. I had three pitchers of Sam Adams Octoberfest, which is quite good. I “shared” the pitchers with my friend Ryan, who, at least to my drunken recollection, hardly drank any. I’m sure he remembers the same about me.

Oh yeah, before the bar, me, Ryan, and Joe drank about 30 beers between the three of us.

Overall, it was a good night. I got through Zoot Suit Riot and Loser. Those two songs I did the most back in my younger days. Apparently 5 years and 5 smokes a day really messes up your voice.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Actions

Information

11 responses

3 10 2007
STEVEwithMOYA

Dude, when you’re in Phoenix next we’re doing the karaoke thing. I got to hear the Zoot Suit Riot. You just don’t paint a clear enough picture for me. I’m gotta have the live show.

4 10 2007
MRoDT

Sounds like a plan. I’ve heard you do a great “Piano Man.”

4 10 2007
Japanet

Karaoke night was fun! we have to do it again… Matt, ryan and joe need to sing next time!

Good times, Good times!

4 10 2007
Joe Drinker

Wow. The Mighty MIghty Bosstones is not for the karaoke faint of heart…you must be a stud. Or incredibly drunk.

4 10 2007
MRoDT

Cherry Poppin’ Daddies, you mean?

Although the Bosstones might be something worth trying. I think I can do that guys voice pretty good. And when I’m drunk, I’ll probably REALLY think its a good idea.

4 10 2007
Joe Drinker

LOL! Originally I had Squirrel Nut Zippers there, but I knew that wasn’t right. Although it did take me three tries to spell “squirrel.”

4 10 2007
MRoDT

Tell me about it, I had to look up how they spelled “Daddies.” I wrote “Daddys” and it didn’t look right.

I probably could do that SNZ song too. I need to download it and practice.

16 10 2007
Nicole

The Cherry Poppin’ Daddies are from Eugene. I remember when I lived in Portland they were always playing everywhere but I wasn’t old enough to get in to most of the places. So where was my dear cousin during all of this drunken debauchery?

Oh, and I quit drinking. Weird, huh?

16 10 2007
MRoDT

Your dear cousin was sitting at the booth. She sung a Shania Twain song with Janet.

You quit drinking? Thats crazy. No wonder you have to leave Sicily, they don’t want you there anymore.

16 10 2007
Nicole

Corinne and Janet up on stage singing Shania Twain? You guys need to start carrying a camcorder! I could still survive in Sicily, I drink espresso…that’s as important if not more important than vino here 🙂

23 03 2008
Irony « MacGyvers Roll of Duct Tape

[…] and I got our first apartment over on West Sierra Avenue. It was less then a mile’s walk to the bowling alley, as well as another bar which I have been to before that I wouldn’t mind going to […]

Leave a Reply

