Something rather innovative from Mac

15 01 2008

I’m normally against owning Mac computers, not because I’m one of those die hard PC enthusiasts, but because I’m just accustomed to using a PC with a Windows OS…and I like to have more then one mouse button.

However, if I were to get a new computer now, which I’m not because I just got a new one, it would totally be the MacBook Air. 

 

(Click here if you would rather not go to the self-riotous, pseudo hip Apple Store, but to Engadget)

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 01 2008
Joe Drinker

Although I am a die-hard mac evangelist, I’m not so sure about this new laptop. Yeah, it’s incredibly cool, but the small hard drives and the fact that there’s no built-in CD slot makes me think that this baby ain’t done yet, and should go back in the oven. Sign me up for Air version 2.0 .

Plus, I would hate to sneeze and blow my computer apart.

16 01 2008
Nicole

Looks pretty damn cool. By the time I can justify buying another laptop, I’m sure they’ll have all the kinks worked out!

16 01 2008
MRoDT

I understand the concern about the CD slot, but I do believe I could live without the occasional CD-ROM, as I only need them to install programs. My concern is the lack of USB ports.

I was thinking last night that the only thing really holding back the size of computers is the keyboard. Without that, all you would need is a multitouch interface. The problem is, that we as humans are to dependent on the keyboard for an input device. Silly humans.

17 01 2008
Joe Drinker

Yeah, one USB port does seem a little weak, but with most of the mice even going wireless now, it wouldn’t be a huge concern. I have USB hubs hooked up to all my computers anyway…even the laptops.

My problem would be if I had to do an emergency reinstall of some software app in the middle of the night, as is usually the case, and not being able to do anything about it. I’d hate to have to buy an external CD drive for that just-in-case possibility.

17 01 2008
MRoDT

Yeah, I know what you mean. I get the feeling that this computer is supposed to be more of an accessory rather then a primary device. It’s turning out to be like an overgrown iPod Touch on steroids.

The problem is, if this computer is not practical as a primary computer, as an additional unit is needed with which to load software, the Air is just to expensive right now. Its a rather big investment considering you need to have an additional computer and other pieces of hardware to get the most use out of it.

Leave a Reply

