Being all that I shouldn’t be

28 03 2008

I have a few more posts about my Navy life in the works, but unfortunately I don’t think they are interesting enough bother with. For example, I drew a map on MS Paint of my shop, it was all detailed and every section of that shop has a story behind it, but like I said, I don’t think any of you really care.

But then again, what is it that YOU, the reader, really cares about in the first place?

I suppose that lately I have been on a “military kick” of sorts. Recently I unearthed from the closet my old sea bag full of uniforms, and that is probably what brought back all the memories.

I suppose I also need to admit what my “life changing plans” were all about. If you don’t know what I mean, you will after reading this.

For a while, I had been thinking about trying to get back into the Navy, but this time as an officer. I’ll have my bachelors degree in May, and that pretty much qualifies me to put in an application to Navy OCS.

If you know me personally, you surely must be thinking “What the hell is this guy talking about? He hates the military!”

Well, you are right for sure. However, after writing all those posts about my misdeeds, I have come to realize why I had such a problem with the Navy in the first place. If I was to get back in and NOT be an engineer, I think I would actually enjoy it.

I decided on the officer program because, well, being an officer kicks ass. At least I think it would kick ass.

So the other night I went down to the Navy recruiting office over by Costco (good place for it, I know). I asked the guys there what I would need to do, and he proceeded to put a tape measure around my neck. Before he could get an accurate measurement, I gently pushed his hands away and said that I do, in fact, exceed body fat standards, so the measurement was not necessary.

Really, I just had questions. Specifically, I wanted to know if the discharge code I got would allow me to do ANYTHING for the government ever again. I got an honorable discharge, but the re-entry code they gave me (RE-4) meant that I was not allowed to reenlist unless the nation was at war and desperately needed people.

You know, like the war we are dealing with now.

These Navy recruiters told me that they were not to accept any RE-4 people for any reason at the moment.

Instead, they directed me to an Army National Guard recruiter. The next night, I went and spoke to him, at length, for a few hours.

Honestly, he laid down a good deal. $20,000 sign-on bonus, $20,000 towards student loan repayments, and 20-27 weeks of avionics school in Fort Eustice, VA, a few miles from my old stomping ground.

You’ll notice I just said “laid down a good deal.” I think he did. However, I’m not a young, single guy with no responsibilities. I have house payments, another year of school to complete, and a wife. I have a life here, in Fresno. I don’t think I can commit 6+ months of my life right now to something like that, at least not something on the other side of the country.

Also, Corinne said no.

So, life will go on as it was scheduled. I graduate in May, start up school AGAIN for another year so I can teach kids about George Washington and how the Chinese invented porcelain and gunpowder.

Not in the same lesson, don’t worry.

Do I want to leave all this behind and start a new life? Of course not. Do I really want to though? Of course. It’s hard to explain.

I’m disappointed that I can’t go through with it, but at the same time I’m glad things are staying status quo here at home.

Also, when this country declares martial law in a few years to “protect” us from the “terrorists,” I’ll be glad to be part of the resistance instead of the oppressive fascist regime.

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 04 2008
Joe Drinker

Strangely enough, I’m with you. I keep wrestling with a decision to join the Air Force, although I’m not sure why. Probably some cool person in my past was in the AF and it made an impression on me. I know I can get in until I’m 35, and perhaps that’s why I’m dwelling on it too.

The benefits would be nice too…

2 04 2008
MRoDT

Air Force is easy stuff. Be prepared to get stationed in some foreign country though. If that’s your thing, go for it. Although if you have a degree, it’s better to go in as an officer. Thats what I was trying to do.

3 04 2008
Nicole

So was any of this true or was it all part of a set up for the April Fool’s thing? I hadn’t even read this one before.

3 04 2008
MRoDT

It’s true, I’m not clever enough to create this kind of set up for a prank…and I only thought to do the April Fools thing while I was sitting in my 8am class on April 1st.

3 04 2008
Nicole

well then I don’t feel quite so stupid about falling for the fake post 🙂

3 04 2008
MRoDT

Only three people fell for it. That’s about a third of my readers though, so it’s a good percentage I guess.

3 04 2008
Nicole

Who else besides me and Maggie?

3 04 2008
MRoDT

My friend Desiree emailed me…through WordPress…I didn’t even know you could do that.

Leave a Reply

