Google Street View

25 06 2008

Of all the coincidential shit to go down, this tops them all.

If you look at the Google Street View of my house, you’ll notice that my work vehicle is parked at the curb and my Jeep isn’t in the carport.

I’m not about to give out my address or a link, but if you know where I live you can check it out yourself.

What sucks is that this can prove I was NOT out with a student, but at home screwing around.  I’m assuming my boss does not spy on us via Google Street View, so I’m in no real danger of unemployment.  Hell, I’ve been violating the dress code right in front of him for the last three weeks, and he hasn’t said anything (I’m wearing open toed sandals to work, not sporting a nipple ring)

Anyway, this means that the Street View picture was taken on a specific day last summer.  That was the Friday that I had to drive my Jeep to work in the morning (as the Matrix was in the shop and my loaner car was reclaimed by its owners).

That day was also the last time I really drove the Jeep, because it was the day that the radiator blew out and I had to have it towed back home, where it has sat until a few months ago when we test drove it after installing a new starter (and not fixing the radiator, by the way).

So if I really wanted to, I could find out what day that was from the towing receipt.  Do I have the motivation to dig through stuff and investigate?  Absolutley not.

Wait, I remember now;  I was home around noon, playing Tropico, and a dark cloud overtook the street.  There were bright lights flashing from within the center as it moved silently and slowly from north to south.  That must have been the Googles.

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 06 2008
Joe Drinker

Google bustification. They’re everywhere.

25 06 2008
Corinne

I would just like to point out, like any good wife would, that I actually knew about Google Street View before you. This may not seem important to most people, but it makes me feel accomplished!

yeah, that was pretty childish, but still feels good!

25 06 2008
MRoDT

Corinne, my sweet innocent wife, I knew about Google Street View long before you did. I just never actually checked it out until last night, as I had a backlog of cool and interesting things (of which you have no clue about) to deal with first.

5 04 2009
Eva

I have actually seen the Google Mobile. After reading your imaginative description of what might happen when the Googles come around to bust you, I am sorry to disappoint. It is a simple, unmarked, black sedan (not even an SUV) with a small camera on top.

I saw it a few weeks ago and thought, “is THAT the Google Mobile?” So, I looked up the address of one of the tall office buildings that have reflective glass and…there it was.

Leave a Reply

