Dominion Pizza

17 03 2009

I have been to Italy and Sicily more times then I can remember.  Seriously, I lost count.  It’s at the point where I don’t get excited about going there anymore.

One thing I do enjoy while visiting the old country is the food.  Specifically, the pizza that is nothing like “American” pizza.  They are smaller and made to be eaten by one person.  They are not “personal” pizzas by any means, but the idea of ordering a large pepperoni and pineapple in Italy just seems blasphemous (and they won’t know what you’re talking about either, because they don’t use pineapple…or speak English).  And you can forget about dipping it in ranch dressing.  I do believe that will get you executed, then hung upside-down at a gas station.

Mussolini jokes aside; I would like to tell you about a little place called Dominion Pizza.  Specifically, I’m talking about the one on Willow and Nees, next to the Save Mart. You should keep in mind that there are three other locations, all owned by the same clever pizza entrepreneur.  At Dominion Pizza, their motto is “You Name It, We Make It,” which is a rather refreshing attitude when it comes to pizza.

Sure, you can call just about any pizza place and ask for a large pepperoni, pineapple, and olive; chances are they have those particular toppings. The thing I like about Dominion Pizza is the variety of toppings (as well as the few pre-made “special” pizzas). Most pizza places have an entire menu of “specials” to choose from. That’s great if you like to be a conformist. At Dominion Pizza, they have four supreme pizzas. The Original Combination, Fresh Veggie, All Meat, and Roasted Garlic Chicken; and yes, they are exactly what they sound like. It’s not these pre-made pizzas that appeal to me (don’t get me wrong, they are all great pizzas), it’s the idea that I can order a pizza with anchovies, eggplant, roasted garlic, and tomato that keeps me going back.

After spending enough time in Italy and Sicily, I figured out what I like on pizza. My ultimate pizza has eggplant, bacon, and eggs on it. That’s rather simple (and unappealing to most of you) for a pizza, but it works. I’m a big fan of anything eggplant. Nobody doesn’t like bacon, and there have been studies that prove it (trust me). Egg though? Don’t knock it until you try it. Imagine cracking an egg onto a pizza before you put it into the oven…then pretend you are me and enjoy it. I don’t think there is any place in the USA that does that to eggs and pizza, probably because it’s some sort of health code violation. Take my word though, it’s incredible.

Does Dominion Pizza put eggs on their pizza? The answer is no, this isn’t Italy (despite the nearly identical climate and agriculture). What Dominion Pizza does offer is the chance to think outside of the proverbial pizza box and get some GOOD toppings on pizza, not the usual fare of meats and veggies.

Maybe you don’t like pizza. Maybe you’re some sort of weirdo like that. They have other stuff like fresh salads, hot wings, garlic bread and sandwiches. Did I try any of those? No way, because I was too busy eating (anchovy, roasted garlic, eggplant, and tomato) pizza and didn’t want to force any more food into myself. Next time I go, I’m definitely getting a Supreme Combination sandwich (salami, pepperoni, AND ham).  They also have beer and wine, all at very reasonable prices.  I had myself a half pitcher of Coors Light for…I don’t remember how much, but that’s a good thing.  If I remember a beer price, its because I felt it was to expensive, so that way I know not to go back there again.

Have you ever seen those commercials where women are sitting and drinking coffee and the coffee reminds them of that one time they were at a café somewhere in Europe enjoying their vacation? That’s not how Dominion Pizza made me feel. I wasn’t drinking coffee, and I’m not a woman. However, the pizza I got at Dominion reminded me of a better time, back in the day when I was free to roam the streets of Italy and Sicily, eating pizza and drinking espressos. Ok, so I was drinking coffee, but not like a girl.

Okay, so I stuck my pinky finger out when I drank the espresso. It’s not my fault; the cups are too small to hold with all five fingers.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

